Exit poll results Monday evening


voting machine

The Election Commission Sunday said results of exit polls can be broadcast only after 6.30 p.m. May 12.

In a reversal, the Election Commission on Friday said exit polls will be banned till May 16, the day of counting, but soon after clarified that the prohibition will be in place only till the end of the last phase of polling on May 12.

“In order to remove any doubt, it is clarified that under the law (Section 126 A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951), the results of exit polls can be disseminated only after 6.30 p.m. May 12, as already notified by the commission vide its notification dated April 3,” Election Commission director Dhirendra Ojha said in a statement.