Hamilton wins Spanish GP


Lewis Hamiltom

Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg waged a tremendous battle for pole position in Barcelona on Saturday, with the honours finally going to the Englishman for the fourth time this year after both Mercedes drivers had turns at the top.

The race was won by Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton in a thrilling finish just 0.6 seconds ahead of teammate Nico Rosberg while Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo finished third.

Hamilton said a big thank you to my team, they’ve just done an incredible job this year. I’m really happy with the support I’ve had here in Spain, it’s the best I’ve ever had, so thank you to everyone in the grandstands, it means the world to me. My first win here in Spain, it means everything to me. 

Force India drivers Sergio Perez and Nico Hulkenberg finished ninth and 10th, respectively, at the Formula 1 Spanish Grand Prix held at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya here Sunday.

With his fourth successive win, Hamilton went to the top of the drivers’ championship for the first time this season with 100 points.

For Force India, Mexican Perez earned two points while his teammate got the last point from the fifth race of the season with the team getting three points in total.

Therefore, Force India dropped a place to fourth in the constructors’ standings and are currently there with 57. Meanwhile in the drivers’ standings, German Hulkenberg is sixth with 37 while Perez sits on 10th with 20.