SPECIAL REPORT: The Sikh Awards 2015


The 6th edition of the coveted Sikh Awards ceremony was held at the Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi ….reports Asian Lite News

Since its inaugural edition held at London in 2010, The Sikh Awards, conceptualised by Mr. Navdeep Singh Bansal has been championing the cause of recognizing the achievements of Sikhs highlighting the successes, energy, drive and passion behind the Sikh community in all sectors. This year, for its 6th edition, the coveted awards night made its maiden entry into India and was held at The Taj Palace Hotel, Sardar Patel Marg, Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi.

The Award ceremony is aimed at celebrating and recognizing the pivotal contributions made by the Sikh community across various fields like business, charity, education, entertainment, media, professional services, seva (selfless service), and sports. The awards are multicultural and include all faiths as it allows for the wider community to learn about Sikhs and what they are achieving around the world in their chosen field.

Like previous ceremonies, dignitaries from all across the world including UK, India, USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Europe, Africa, Middle East and Asia attended this event. The awards night witnessed a mélange of personalities ranging from diplomatic, political, corporate and entertainment circles. Amongst those who were seen supporting the cause were Raj Babbar, Sachin Ahuja, Princess Shanaz Hussian, Soli Sohrabjee, Dr. Guann- Jyh Lee, H.E. Dr. Sabit Subasic, H.E. Hassan M.AI Jawarneh, Virendra Kataria, Mr Robert Christopher, Aslam Sheikh, and Retired Major General Lakhwinder Singh and many more.

The winners of The Sikh Awards 2015 night are:

Mr. Kulwant Singh (UK) – Sikhs in Charity Award

Dr. Parvinder Singh Pasricha (India) – Sikhs in Seva Award

Mr. Sundeep Singh Sandhu (UK) – Sikhs in Sports Award

S. Mohinder SinghSarna (USA) – Sikhs in Entertainment Award

Mr. Bal Singh Samra (UK) – Sikhs in Media Award

Dr.Raghbir Singh Bains (Canada) – Sikhs in Education Award

Mr. Karan Singh Bajwa (India) – Sikhs in Profession Award

Mr. Ajinder Pal Singh (Botswana) – Sikhs Entrepreneur Award

Mr. Kuldip Singh Dhingra (India) – Sikhs Businessman Award

Ms. Indira Kaur Alhuwalia (USA) – Sikhs Business Women Award

Mr. Kavanjit Singh Hayre (UK) – Sikhs People’s Choice Award

Ms. Prakash Kaur (India) – The Lifetime Achievement Award.