Stars Shine at DadaSaheb Phalke Awards


The DadaSaheb Phalke Awards recognised the hard work and talent of many celebrities  . . . . reports Asian Lite News

Mumbai got dazzled up in the presence of hundreds of celebrities from the world of television and cinema at the DadaSaheb Phalke Excellence Awards. This award is hosted each year to encourage and promote the contributions of various celebrities towards the field of entertainment and Indian cinema in particular.

The night of awards began with the traditional lamp lighting ceremony. Shri Ratan Tata was the chief guest for the evening and he was received by actors Sanjay Khan and Poonam Jhawer. Poonam said, “I am really glad and honoured to have Mr Ratan Tata who has graced the occasion and to made this day memorable for the film fraternity.” The event was hosted by ace television and film actor Rohit Roy.

The night began with Shri Ratan Tata awarding the Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Award to Actress Shabana Azmi for the movie Neerja. Actress Kamini Kaushal was awarded the Lifetime achievement award for her contributions over the whole career. The night got dazzled when the Disco king and the Golden man of the film industry Bappi Lahiri got his lifetime achievement award for the wonderful era of music which can be never replaced. Newcomers Sooraj Pancholi and Athiya shetty got the best couple award. Other awardees include Annu Kapoor, Shoojit Sircar, Sooraj Barjatya,  Pritam, Amitabh Bhattacharya, Sikander Kher, Richa Chaddha, Indrani Krishnan,  Ganesh Acharya, Deepak Dobriyal, Palak Muchhal, Smita Thackeray, Shailesh Lodha, and Dr Jaishree Manchanda.

Ratan Tata commented, “it’s an honour to be the part of such a great night and to be with many renowned people from the film industry.”