Lord Desai Pins Hopes on Pinarayi


The victory in India is giving a fillip to the worker’s movements across the world. Lord Desai and Afzal Khan, former Manchester Mayor, congrat Pinarayi Vijayan, the new chief minister of Kerala. The southern state of India is back on Red Fold as Vijayan took oath at the central stadium in Thiruvananthapuram…. reports Rafeek Ravuther

Asian Lite Cover on Vijayan
Asian Lite Cover on Vijayan

Former prime minister HD Deve Gowda, CPM General Secretary Sitaram Yechury, former chief ministers VS Achuthanandan, Oommen Chandy, BJP leader O Rajagopal attended the ceremony attended by over 30,000 people.

Lord Meghanad Desai, world acclaimed economist, said the return of the Left Front in Kerala will improve the social progress and financial matters of the southern state.

“With Pinarayi Vijayan, a toddy tapper’s son as Chief Minister, Kerala should take a leap in its development,” he told Asian Lite newspaper in London. “The rampant corruption under the Congress regime undermines the very ethos of democracy. I hope the situation will change.”

Afzal Khan MEP, Vice-Chair of the European Parliament’s Security and Defence Panel, said Vijayan’s victory is very important in a communally polarised India and the worker’s movement across the world.

“A small step in southern corner of India, but a great leap for the socialist movement across the world,” Mr Afzal, the former Lord Mayor of Manchester said.

The event was star studded too. Kerala superstar Mammootty, Lok Sabha MP Innocent, Dileep, Mukesh MLA were also present at the oath taking ceremony

Pinarayi Vijayan served for 17 years as the CPM’s Kerala state secretary, the longest tenure ever. He has been elected to the state assembly five times and won this year’s election from Dharmadam constituency by a margin of 36,000 votes.

Mr Vijayan, 72, the youngest son of a toddy tapper, struggled and led campaigns for workers rights through out his political career.

“This will be a people’s government and will function for the welfare of the people. There will be no caste, religious and political barriers and we will function with that spirit,” Mr Vijayan has promised.

In his cabinet, Mr Vijayan will have 12 ministers from the CPM or Communist Party of India-Marxist, four from the Communist Party of India or CPI and one each from LDF constituents the Janata Dal-S, the Nationalist Congress Party and the Congress-S.

Vijayan was born on 24 May 1945 in a poor family in Pinarayi in Kannur district. After school, he worked as a handloom weaver for a year before joining for Pre–university course in the Government Brennen College, Thalassery. Subsequently, he completed his degree course from the same college.

Pinarayi Vijayan entered politics through student union activities at Govt Brennen College and eventually joined the Communist Party in 1964. Vijayan became Kannur district secretary of the Kerala Students Federation (KSF), which later became the Students Federation of India (SFI). He went on to become the state secretary and subsequently the state president of KSF. He then moved on to Kerala State Youth Federation (KSYF), which later became the Democratic Youth Federation of India (DYFI). He became the president of the state committee. During that period, when communists in Kerala were organising the political activities from different hide-outs, Pinarayi Vijayan was imprisoned for one and a half years.

Later he was elected as the president of the Kerala state co-operative bank. During the emergency, he was arrested and tortured by police. He became the Kannur district secretary of the CPI (M) when M.V. Raghavan left the party over the ‘alternative document’ row. Within three years, he became a member of the State secretariat. He was elected to the Assembly in 1970, 1977 and 1991 from Koothuparamba and in 1996 from Payyannur. He was the Minister for Electric power and Co-operatives in the E.K. Nayanar ministry from 1996 to 1998. In 1998, he became the state secretary of the CPI(M), following the death of the incumbent Chadayan Govindan. He was elected to the politburo of the CPI(M) in 2002.

[mc4wp_form id=""]