TIMES NOW, ICICI Bank Present NRI Awards


Film Baahubali and ISRO honored at TIMES NOW ICICI Bank NRI of the Year Awards 2017 while Baahubali Actress Tamannaah Bhatia and Snooker Player Pankaj Advani graced the occasion….reports Asian Lite News

 by .
From Left
Ms. Chanda Kochhar – MD & CEO, ICICI Bank
Mr Pankaj Advani- Winner of Global Indian Icon under sports category
Ms. Manushi Chillar- Femina Miss India World,
Mr MK Anand – MD and CEO, TIMES Network

TIMES NOW, India’s No. 1 news channel and ICICI Bank, India’s largest private sector bank by consolidated assets, jointly hosted the fourth edition of ‘TIMES NOW ICICI Bank NRI of the Year Awards powered by Global Indian International School’ on 11th July in Mumbai. After its resounding success in the last 3 seasons, TIMES NOW and ICICI BANK organized the prestigious NRI of the Year Awards 2017, to salute the spirit of the Global Indian.

NRI of the Year Awards, this year was open to all Non Resident Indians (NRI), Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) and Person of Indian origin (PIO) who reside in USA, Canada, UK, Middle East, Singapore, Australia and New Zealand. The high profile jury for NRI of the Year Awards 2017, comprised of popular author Amish Tripathi, celebrated lyricist Prasoon Joshi, Satish Mahashinde, columnist Bachi Karkaria, and veteran journalist Kumar Ketkar.

Ms. Chanda Kochhar, MD & CEO, ICICI Bank graced the occasion and presented some of the key awards to the recipients. She conferred the Global Indian Award for Sports and for Science, India’s Global Icon Award and the Global India Impact Award 2017 to the winners. The gala event was hosted by TV actor Karan Tacker and television presenter & singer Sophie Choudry.

 by .
All winners at NRI of the Year Awards night

The event was graced by the presence of eminent personalities like Baahubali Actress Tamannaah Bhatia, Baahubali Writer Vijayendra Prasad, Actress Sana Khan, Choreographer Terence Lewis and many more from the TV and Bollywood Industry. This was the first event attended by the newly crowned Femina Miss India 2017 – Manushi Chhillar, Sana Dua– 1st Runner Up and Priyanka Kumari – 2nd Runner Up. The entire process of the awards right from the nominations to choosing the winners to evaluation process was managed by EY.

The fourth edition of TIMES NOW ICICI Bank NRI of the Year awards powered by Global Indian International School was awarded to 23 individuals under 11 different categories– Entrepreneur, Professional, Academics, Art & Culture, Philanthropy, Special Jury Award, India’s Global Icon Award, Global Indian Awards – Sports, Global Indian Awards – Science.

NRI of the Year is India’s most distinctive awards recognizing the outstanding achievements of the Indian Diaspora globally. With their grit and perseverance, Non Resident Indians (NRIs) have achieved tremendous success in various fields in the countries they have chosen to adopt as their homes.

Many NRIs are accomplished politicians, scientists, sportsmen, businessmen, professionals and academicians in various countries. Through this awards TIMES NOW and ICICI Bank recognised the success of these achievers.

 by .
Manushi Chillar- Femina Miss India (winner)

MK Anand, MD and CEO, TIMES NETWORK said, “As India’s leading English broadcast network with over 100 million viewers in India and presence in 100 countries globally, Times Network has the best credentials to globally survey and recognize outstanding Indians and present them to our society as our true gems. The NRI of the Year Awards is an important component of our engagement with a critical constituency, not just as a Media group, but also for the Country and its global agenda. We hope to contribute towards building and strengthening the ties Global Indians have with their motherland and act as a force multiplier in their endeavor to contribute to nation building. After its resounding success in the last 3 seasons, TIMES NOW is back with the 4th edition of the prestigious NRI OF THE YEAR Awards 2017 to salute the spirit of the Global Indian. My heartiest congratulations to all winners.”

Speaking on the occasion, Mr. Vijay Chandok, Executive Director, ICICI Bank said, “ICICI Bank is happy to be associated with the ‘TIMES NOW ICICI Bank NRI of the Year’ awards. These awards, which are now in their 4th edition, give us the opportunity to honour members of the NRI community who have made an impact on society. With each passing year, these awards reach a new height due to the overwhelming response that we receive every year. ICICI Bank has been serving Indians across the globe for more than a decade. This platform gives us the opportunity to reaffirm our commitment of creating value for the NRI diaspora.”

Naveen Chandra, Head- International Business, TIMES NETWORK shared, “The NRI of the Year awards is the most distinctive awards for Indians globally and we have received an overwhelming 25,000 unique visitors on www.nrioftheyear.com. We received more than 7000 registrations online and the multiple Jury rounds have ensured that the winners are of high quality. Among the winners this year are accomplished Neurologists, Oncologists, CEOs of global businesses and a former white house intern, and some very rich and accomplished Indians. We hope to take this further into more markets and reach out and cover more Indian Diaspora over the years ahead.”

Atul Temurnikar, Executive Chairman and CEO Global Schools Foundation, Singapore added, “We at Global Indian International School are proud to recognize the contribution of the Indian Diaspora around the world. As a K-12 educational institution catering to students in 7 countries, we hope to nurture our students into future global citizens like the distinguished individuals present today.


List of Winners 2017
Categories Name of the Winner Country
Global Indian Impact Icon Baahubali –Tamannaah Bhatia and V Vijayendra Prasad (writer of Baahubali) India
India’s Global Icon Shri A. S. Kiran Kumar India
Special Jury Award Vilanyur Ramachandran USA
Global Indian Award – Science Dr. Mylswamy Annadurai India
Dr Koppillil Radhakrishnan India
Global Indian Awards – Sports Pankaj Advani India
Academics Suresh Bhargava Asia Pacific
Shinjini Kundu USA
Simran Vedvyas Middle East
Abhinav Singla Middle East


Rhys Concessao UK
Byrappa Venkatesh Asia Pacific
YKS Vishwanath UK
Kuppusamy Uthaman Middle East
Sitharama Iyengar USA
Philanthropy Ronald Colaco Middle East
Start-up Neil Parikh USA
Art & Culture Dhanoday Srivastava UK
Entrepreneur SanjeevTikam Mahtani Asia Pacific
Shri Thanedar USA
Sanjay Pitalia UK
Birbal Dana Middle East


[mc4wp_form id=""]