More MPs To Run London Marathon

IAHV runners at the 10k British marathon run 2016

Organisers said that at least 16 members from the British Parliament will run in this year’s London Marathon, smashing all previous records for MPs’ entries….reports Asian Lite News

IAHV runners at the 10k British marathon run 2016

The previous record of nine MPs’ entry was set in 2014, Xinhua news agency quoted the organisers as saying.

The 16 include three women MPs — another record — including Scottish National Party MP Hannah Bardell, the first SNP member ever to run.

A total of 70 MPs have run the London Marathon since 1981.

The Conservative Party provides the majority of the running politicians with nine to Labour’s five, although in 70-year-old Kevin Barron Labour does boast the oldest and the first knighted MP to run. There are no Liberal Democrats in the run.

Matthew Parris holds the record as the fastest MP. His five London Marathon times (1981-85) are all faster than the next best, Doug Henderson.

[mc4wp_form id=""]