parliament house

Fifty-eight percent of members elected to the Lok Sabha in this general election are first-timers, the highest in the last three decades.

A total of 315 parliamentarians out of 543 have been elected for the first time to the Lok Sabha, according to PRS.

This is the highest number of first-time members in the Lok Sabha in the last three decades. This number includes those who might have been members of the Rajya Sabha before, but have been elected to the Lok Sabha for the first time.

Of the 543 elected members, 226 (42 percent) have prior Lok Sabha experience.

Ram Vilas Paswan from Bihar, Kamal Nath from Madhya Pradesh and P.A. Sangma from Meghalaya have been elected for the ninth time.

Kariya Munda and Shibu Soren from Jharkhand, Sumitra Mahajan from Madhya Pradesh and Arjun Charan from Odisha have been elected for the eighth time, PRS said.

Sumitra Mahajan also has the distinction of being the woman member with the most legislative experience in the 16th Lok Sabha, it said.

Of the 282 Bharatiya Janata Party MPs, 116 (41 percent) have been members before, while 165 (59 percent) have been elected for the first time, according to PRS.

Of the 44 Congress members, 35 have been MPs before (80 percent). The AIADMK has 34 first-timers (90 percent), Trinamool Congress has 19 (56 percent) while the Biju Janata Dal has 12 (60 percent).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here