Home News INDIAN NEWS Indian Journalists Elect New Team

Indian Journalists Elect New Team

Mr Ashis Ray

The Indian Journalists’ Association, one of the oldest press forum in Europe, elects Mr Ashis Ray as president…reports Asian Lite News

Mr Ashis Ray, President, Indian Journalists’ Association, London

The Indian Journalists’ Association, celebrating 70 years of inception, has appointed its new President, General Secretary and Committee for 2017. An AGM was held at the famous India Club, where the new Committee was elected.

2017 is an important year in the diary of Indian journalists. Not only this is the 70th year of India’s independence and the UK-India Year of Culture, but we also celebrate 70 years of the Indian Journalists’ Association, which stands witness to many history unfolding. Formerly an association meant just for the foreign correspondents from India in the UK, it has almost 100 members now, including many working in the local/British media.

Veteran journalist formerly with CNN and BBC, author and commentator, Mr Ashis Ray, who had revived IJA in 2010, has been chosen as the President on this very important year for Indo-British relationship.

Rupanjana Dutta of Asian Voice and Bartaman Patrika has been appointed as the General Secretary.

Dr Shiv Pande, a former broadcaster and a freelance journalist has been re-appointed as the Treasurer.  The newly elected Committee members include: Rithika Siddhartha from Eastern Eye, Vijay Raleigh of India Link, Naresh Kaushik from BBC News and Anasudhin Azeez from Asian Lite.

Co-opted members include: Suman Bhuchar of Asian Culture Vulture, Prasun Sonwalkar of Hindustan Times and Ragasudha Vinjamuri of Asian Lite. This year, keeping all the special events and our own celebrations in mind, in addition to the co-opted members, three subcommittees have been formed viz. an Editorial board with three members headed by Amit Roy of The Telegraph and Eastern Eye. Mr Roy as an Editor will be looking after the Special Year Book this year. The Celebrations subcommittee will be Chaired by H S Rao, of PTI along with a team of his choice.

New Membership drive will be led by Batuk Gathani, a senior journalist and former correspondent of The Hindu, who will ensure that the organisation’s strength grows in number.
The Subcommittees will be working in tandem with the Executive Committee.

NEW IJA, London

President: Ashis Ray
Secretary: Rupanjana Dutta
Treasurer: Dr Shiv Pande
Committee members: Rithika Siddhartha, Vijay Ralleigh, Naresh Kaushik and Anasudhin Aziz.
Coopted members: Suman Bhuchar, Prasun Sonwalkar and Ragasudha Vinjamuri.

If you are interested to join IJA, please send a mail to shivpande@yahoo.com for details