Bangladesh batsman Nasir Hossain in action during the 1st ODI match between India and Bangladesh at Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka, Bangladesh on June 18, 2015.
Bangladesh batsman Nasir Hossain in action during the 1st ODI match between India and Bangladesh at Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka, Bangladesh on June 18, 2015.

Bangladesh produced a clinical all-round performance to claim a memorable 79-run victory against India in their first One-Day International (ODI) of a three-match series here.

Chasing a stiff target of 308, India folded for 228 in 46 overs. Left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman (5/50) made a dream debut to fashion the victory for the home team.

It was Bangladesh’s only fourth win in 30 ODI matches against their mighty neighbours, which also avenged their controversial World Cup quarter-final loss that started hostility among the two cricketing boards, and culminated with the resignation of Bangladesh’s Mustafa Kamal as International Cricket Council (ICC) president.

The Indian run chase began healthily with openers Rohit Sharma (63) and Shikhar Dhawan (30) putting together a 95-run stand.

Rohit scored his fifty off 52 balls with three boundaries and a six. Dhawan was dropped twice, on 13 and 15, by Rahim in consecutive overs off Rubel Hossain and Mashrafe Bin Mortaza.

But Dhawan’s 16th over dismissal, edging an attempted uppercut off Taksin Ahmed, started an unexpected downward spiral that put India in trouble.

Virat Kohli (1) hung his bat loosely at a wide delivery that took an edge. Rohit followed him soon after, managing only a leading edge off a Mustafiz Rahman cutter.

Ainkya Rahane (9) and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni (5) also departed soon as India slumped from a position of strength at 95/1 to 128/5 in 28.3 overs at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Suresh Raina (40) and Ravindra Jadeja tried to put up a resistance but that was swiftly nipped in the bud for Bangladesh’s ninth consecutive home win.

Earlier, Bangladesh put up a gritty batting display to post a strong 307 runs.

Openers Taim Iqbal (60) and Soumya Sarkar (54) and middle-order batters Shakib Al Hasan (52) and Sabbir Rahman (41) contributed richly for the hosts to put up a challenging target for their more fancied opponents.

India’s premier spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was the most successful bowler with 3/51 in his stipulated 10 overs. Pacers Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2/37) and Umesh Yadav (2/58) were also among the wickets as India bowled out the home team in 49.4 overs.

The home team got a rollicking start to their innings and reached 119/1 in 15.4 overs after Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Mortaza won the toss and decided to bat before rain could halt the proceedings.

Openers Tamim Iqbal (60) and Soumya Sarkar (54) punished the Indian bowlers from the very beginning and put the home team in a strong position.

They put together a 100-run partnership in only 79 balls.

But just when they threatened to take the match away from India, their momentum was broken when Das was run out after getting involved in a mix-up with his partner.

Spinner Ravichandran Ashwin struck for India with three quick wickets and reduced Bangladesh to 147 for four in 24 overs after rain held up the game for about an hour.

Tamim suffered a lapse in concentration following the break and lofted Ashwin straight down to Rohit Sharma at long-off. His 62-ball innings contained seven fours and a six.

Ashwin trapped debutant Litton Das (8) in front before Mushfiqur Rahim (14) holed out to Sharma at long-on.

But Bangladesh recovered from that mini collapse to reach 200 in 34.1 overs riding on a timely 83-run fifth-wicket partnership from Shakib Al Hasan (52) and Sabbir Rahman (41).

Left arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja (1/48) finally broke that partnership in the 38th over.

But the Indian bowlers were unable to restrict the smooth run flow with Shakib scoring his 29th ODI fifty. Shakib ultimately perished in the 44th over but not before setting up his team for a strong total.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here