bjpThe Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Tuesday won Rajasthan’s Kota South assembly constituency, but was trailing in the remaining three constituencies where bypolls were held till reports last came in.

According to the results till 10.45 a.m., BJP’s Sandeep Sharma was declared elected from the Kota South constituency, defeating Congress candidate Shivkant Nandwana by over 25,000 votes.

However, party candidates who led in morning trends, were now left behind their counterparts as Congress candidates led in Weir, Nasirabad and Surajgarh assembly constituencies.

By-polls were held for all the four seats Sep 13.

The elections were necessitated as BJP legislators Sanwar Lal Jat from Nasirabad, Om Birla from Kota South, Santosh Ahlawat from Surajgarh, and Bahadur Singh Koli from Weir got elected to the Lok Sabha in the April-May general elections.

Over 65.25 percent of the 8.95 lakh electorate voted in these constituencies.

In all, 23 candidates were in the fray.

The BJP fielded Sarita Gaina from Nasirabad in Ajmer district, Gangaram Koli from Weir constituency in Bharatpur district, and a close confidant of Vasundhara Raje, Digambar Singh, from Surajgah in Jhunjhunu district.

The Congress fielded Ramnarayan Gurjar from Nasirabad, Bhajanlal Jatav from Weir constituency, and Shravan Kumar from Surajgarh.

In the the 2013 assembly elections, the Congress suffered one of its worst defeats in the history of the state, winning only 21 of the 200 assembly seats. The BJP swept the polls, winning 163 seats.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here