Modi In A Fix As BJP Majority Eludes


In Lucknow, Rajnath Singh is leading with a margin of 42,048 votes against Samajwadi Party leader Ravidas Mehrotra…reports Asian Lite News

As the counting of votes is underway in Uttar Pradesh, the state which sends the highest number of MPs in Lok Sabha is witnessing a close contest between the Bharatiya Janata Party-led NDA and INDIA bloc comprising Samajwadi Party and Congress.

Samajwadi Party is currently ahead on 36 seats. Dimple Yadav is massively leading with a margin of 1,40,966 votes against BJP candidate Jayveer Singh. Her Husband and party chief Akhilesh Yadav is leading with a margin of 84,463 votes against BJP candidate Subrat Pathak.

Samajwadi Party is surging ahead in Faizabad which comprises the Ayodhya Assembly seat. SP’s Awadesh Prasad is leading against BJP candidate Lallu Singh with 9,991 votes.

Samajwadi Party’s Lok Sabha candidate from Ghazipur, Afzal Ansari is well ahead with a 33,484 vote margin over BJP’s Paras Nath Rai. Ansari is the brother of gangster-turned-politician Mukhtar Ansari who recently died due to cardiac arrest in March this year.

On BJP’s front which is ahead on 33 seats, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is ahead with a 1,32,205 vote margin against Uttar Pradesh Congress chief Ajai Rai in Varanasi.

Karan Bhushan Singh, son of Brij Bhusan Singh is comfortably ahead in Kaiserganj with a margin of 83,326 votes. His father was not given a ticket in the 2024 Lok Sabha polls as the former Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) chief has been accused of sexual harassment by six women wrestlers.

In Lucknow, Rajnath Singh is leading with a margin of 42,048 votes against Samajwadi Party leader Ravidas Mehrotra.

Jitin Prasada who replaced sitting MP and BJP leader Varun Gandhi in Pilhibit is well ahead with a margin of 1,27,040 votes against Samajwadi Party leader Bhagwat Saran Gangwar. Varun Gandhi’s mother Maneka Gandhi is trailing behind with a margin of 24,624 votes against Samajwadi Party candidate Rambhual Nishad in Sultanpur.

BJP’s Atul Garg in Ghaziabad is leading with 86,011 votes while Mahesh Sharma is leading with 2,66,339 votes in Gautam Buddha Nagar.

In the latest ECI trends, BJP’s Smriti Irani is trailing behind Congress leader Kishori Lal Sharma by a margin of 88,908 votes. Maneka Gandhi is also trailing behind Rambhual Nishad in Sultanpur with a margin of 24,624 votes.

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi is way ahead in Raebareli with a margin of 2,71,752 votes against BJP’s Dinesh Pratap Singh.

Congress, which entered into an alliance with partners across the country to form INDIA bloc carried out two yatras: Bharat Jodo Yatra and another is Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra under which Rahul Gandhi traversed a distance over 10,000 kilometres across the length and breadth of the country, which also witnessed participation of some of the party’s allies. These Yatras united the party and destabilised the NDA which is now evident with the Lok Sabha poll results. While the BJP which did not change the strategy to fight the elections saw a dip in its performance nationwide.

In Amroha, Danish Ali who recently joined the Congress ranks after quitting Bahujan Samaj Party is leading with 13,494 votes against BJP’s Kanwar Singh Tanwar.

Uttar Pradesh sends a maximum of 80 seats to the Lok Sabha. The polling in the state was held in all seven phases.

The exit polls had predicted that Uttar Pradesh, the state with the highest number of seats, is poised to see the BJP emerge victorious with 65 out of 80 seats.

As per the poll predictions, its NDA allies in the state, Apna Dal (Sonelal) and Rashtriya Lok Dal are slated to win 2 seats each which brings the NDA tally to 69 seats.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged as the winner by securing the majority of seats available. Of 80 seats, the BJP won 62, followed by the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) with 10 seats, the Samajwadi Party (SP) with 5 seats, and the Apna Dal with 2 seats.

‘PM should quit’

Former Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot on Tuesday said that following the election result trends, Prime Minister Narendra Modi should opt out of the prime ministerial race, as BJP will not get a majority.

“Now it has become clear that BJP will neither get 370 seats nor NDA will get 400 seats. BJP will not get a clear majority. In such a situation, PM Modi should withdraw his name from the Prime Minister race,” the former Rajasthan Chief Minister said.

He said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi completely focused the 2024 Lok Sabha elections campaign on himself.

“In his campaign, he used phrases like ‘Modi Ki Guarantee’, ‘Modi Sarkar’ were raised more than the slogans on BJP. Even bypassing the MP candidates, the entire election was run in the name of Modi ki guarantee,” he said.

He said that issues like inflation, unemployment, and increasing tension in the society became secondary in the election for PM Modi and what was heard were slogans like ‘Modi-Modi’.

“The Prime Minister had claimed in Parliament that under his leadership, BJP would cross 370 seats and NDA would cross 400 seats but that is not going to happen as per the result trends,” the former Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot said.   

ALSO READ-BJP Leads in Rajasthan with 13 Seats, Congress Trails with Nine

[mc4wp_form id=""]