Exit polls predict big win for BJP in Tripura, Nagaland


An aggregate of exit polls showed the NDA will come to power in Nagaland, Meghalaya. Its performance in Tripura may be lacklustre compared to 2018…reports Asian Lite News

The ruling NDPP-BJP alliance would retain power in Nagaland, while BJP has a clear edge over its rivals in Tripura, exit polls predicted on Monday as they forecast a close race in Meghalaya.

The outcome of exit polls was telecast by news channels after the conclusion of polling in Meghalaya and Tripura on Monday. Tripura had gone to the polls on February 16. In Tripura where the BJP created history in 2018 by wresting the state from Left parties, the exit polls predicted that the BJP will be ahead of its rivals or get majority.

India Today-Axis My India exit poll predicted that BJP would get 36-45 seats and the Left-Congress will get 6-11 seats. The exit poll gave 9-16 seats to Tipra Motha.

The ZeeNews-Matrize exit poll predicted that BJP-IPFT will get 29-36 seats in the 60-member House. It said Left-Congress combine is poised to get 13-21 seats and Tipra Motha 11-16.

The ETG-Times Now poll predicted BJP would get 24 seats, Left-Congress would get 21 seats and Tipra Motha 14 seats. The BJP had won 36 seats in the 2018 assembly election.

For the 60-member Nagaland assembly, India Today-Axis My India exit poll predicted that the NDPP-BJP alliance would get 38 to 48 seats.

It said Congress is likely to win 1-2 seats, NPF may win 3-8 seats and other parties could get 5-15 seats.

According to Zee-Matriz exit poll, NDPP-BJP alliance could get 35-43 seats.

ETG-Times Now poll gave 27-33 seats to NDPP, 12-16 seats to BJP and 4-8 seats to NPF.

In the 60-member Meghalaya assembly, Zee-Matrize exit poll predicted NPP will get 21-26 seats, Trinamool Congress 8-13 seats, BJP 6-11 seats and Congress 3-6 seats.

India Today-Axis My India exit poll for the state predicted NPP getting 18-24 seats, Congress (6-12), BJP (4-8), UDP (8-12 seats) and TMC (5-9) seats.

Times Now ETG exit poll predicted that NPP will get 18-26 seats, AITMC 8-14 seats, UDP 8-14 seats and BJP 3-6 seats.

The counting of votes in all three states will take place on March 2.

All options open, says Meghalaya

Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma is likely to form a post-poll alliance, indicated exit polls conducted by a number of media houses.

The exit polls further pointed out that the northeastern state would have a hung house, with Sangma’s National People’s Party (NPP) emerging as the single-largest party. Following this, Conrad Sangma said that he would keep all options to form a stable government.

“We will keep all our options open to form a stable government. We are happy to see the trend is in line as we expected to get more seats than we received last time,” said Sangma.

To form a stable government, Sangma said, decision would taken considering the best interest of the state.

“When it comes to forming a stable government as and when the situation arrives we will move forward considering the best interest of the state,” he said.

The ruling NDPP-BJP alliance would retain power in Nagaland, while BJP has a clear edge over its rivals in Tripura, exit polls predicted as they forecast a close race in Meghalaya.

EC to hold peace meetings

The Election Commission said that it will hold peace meetings on Monday and Tuesday to avert any law and order problem in the state after election results are declared on March 2.

The Chief Election Officer, Kiran Gitte said that they had meetings with all political parties in this regard. “After poll results, a law and order situation can occur. Peace meetings to be held on February 27 and 28,” the Chief Election officer said, adding, “People will be requested to pass a resolution to maintain peace”.

The development comes after a person allegedly sustained a leg injury after clashes had broken out between supporters of the ruling BJP and Opposition CPI during the polling for Tripura assembly elections outside a polling booth earlier in the month.

The alleged incident had taken place outside the Kalacherra polling station in Shantirbazaar Assembly constituency in the south Tripura district.

On Thursday, Tripura Chief Electoral Officer Kiran Gitte conducted review meetings in South Tripura, Gomati and Sepahijala districts ahead of the counting of votes of recently held Tripura Assembly polls.

The review meeting was conducted in the presence of state Chief Secretary JK Sinha and Director General of Police (DGP) Amitabh Ranjan and Additional DGP Saurabh Tripathi.

ALSO READ-Pak ruling alliance rejects election dates set by Prez Alvi

[mc4wp_form id=""]