Congress Has Lost Majority in Himachal, Claims Thakur


The LoP said that many Congress legislators are in touch with them….reports Asian Lite News

The Congress government in Himachal Pradesh has lost the majority in the House, the Leader of Opposition (LoP) Jai Ram Thakur said on Tuesday amid reports of cross-voting in the lone Rajya Sabha seat. Thakur also demanded the resignation of Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu.

“The Budget will be passed on Wednesday. We will discuss the Budget and then will see the situation there. But I can see that the government has lost the majority,” he said when asked if the state BJP will demand a Floor test.

The LoP said that many Congress legislators are in touch with them.

Media reports say nine Congress MLAs may have cross-voted in favour of the BJP in the Rajya Sabha poll.

Thakur further said that for the MLAs, the credit goes to the BJP leadership and Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

“We are rightly saying that looking at this victory, the Himachal Pradesh CM should resign from his position…The MLAs have left him just within a year,” he added.

BJP candidate Harsh Mahajan, who was pitted against Congress stalwart Abhishek Manu Singhvi, called the win “the victory of the BJP, Narendra Modi, and Amit Shah”.

In a big setback for the Congress government in Himachal Pradesh, the party’s nominee for Rajya Sabha polls, Abhishek Manu Singhvi, lost the poll as “nine MLAs including six from the party cross-voted”.

Harsh Mahajan, BJP’s Rajya Sabha candidate, said, “The statement of the Congress seems they have lost their mind. This is happening because their government has failed so their MLAs and people are upset with them.”

Chief Minister Sukhvinder Sukhu, who is facing dissent within the party, said, “In a way BJP has tried to threaten our leaders and Congress strongly condemns this.”

The Congress has a comfortable majority of 40 in the 68-member House. The BJP has strength of 25 legislators. There are three Independent legislators, comprising two BJP rebels and one Congress, who have indicated support for the ruling party.

ALSO READ: Rahul’s Nyay Yatra to enter MP on March 2

[mc4wp_form id=""]