Nominations for Phase 7 of polls begins in Punjab, Himachal


The nominations can be filed from May 7 to May 14 from 11:00 am to 3:00 pm every day…reports Asian Lite News

The filing of nominations for the Lok Sabha elections is slated to start in Punjab and Himachal Pradesh from May 7.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has appointed general and police observers for 13 seats in Punjab to ensure peaceful, fair, and transparent elections. These officials will assume their responsibilities from May 14, a press release from the Punjab Information and Public Relations Department said.

Punjab Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Sibin C said that 13 IAS officers from various states have been appointed as general observers, while seven IPS officers have been appointed as police observers. Their role is to ensure adherence to the rules and directives of the ECI during the elections, regarding the Model Code of Conduct.

Among the IAS officers, who have been appointed as general observers are K Mahesh (Batch 2009) for Gurdaspur Lok Sabha seat, Siddharth Jain (2001) for Amritsar, Abhimanyu Kumar (2011) for Khadoor Sahib, J Meghanatha Reddy (2013) for Jalandhar, R Anandakumar (2003) for Hoshiarpur, Heera Lal (2010) for Anandpur Sahib, Divya Mittal (2013) for Ludhiana, Rakesh Shankar (2004) for Fatehgarh Sahib, Roohi Khan (2013) for Faridkot, Kapil Meena (2010) for Ferozepur, S Prabhakar (2009) for Bathinda, Shanavas S (2012) for Sangrur and Om Prakash Bakoria (2006) for Patiala Lok Sabha seat, the release said.

Similarly, police observers include IPS officers like Kushal Pal Singh (Batch 2014) for Gurdaspur and Hoshiarpur Lok Sabha seats, Sweta Shrimali (2010) for Amritsar and Khadoor Sahib, Satish Kumar Gajbhiye (2002) for Jalandhar and Ludhiana, Sandeep Gajanan Diwan (2010) for Anandpur Sahib and Fatehgarh Sahib, B Shankar Jaiswal (2001) for Bathinda and Faridkot, AR Damodhar (2013) for Ferozepur and Amir Javed (2012) for Sangrur and Patiala Lok Sabha seats.

Notably, 15 serving IRS officers have already been appointed by ECI as Expenditure observers, the release mentioned.

In Punjab, voting for its 13 seats will take place in a single phase, with the seventh and final phase on June 1 seeing voting in Gurudaspur, Amritsar, Khadoor Sahib, Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur, Nandpur Sahib, Ludhiana, Fatehgarh Sahib, Faridkot, Firozpur, Bathinda, Sangrur, and Patiala constituencies.

Himachal Pradesh

The electoral body has issued notifications for ensuing Lok Sabha General Elections and six Assembly Constituency (AC) bye-elections in Himachal Pradesh.

A press release, dated May 7, 2024, informed that nominations can be filed from May 7 to May 14 from 11:00 am to 3:00 pm every day, from May 7 to May 14, at the designated locations and before the designated ROs/AROs as mentioned in the notification.

It also mentioned the dates and timings for scrutiny and withdrawal. May 14, 2024, will be the last date for making nominations; May 15, 2024 (for the scrutiny of nominations); May 17, 2024 (the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures).

As per notification for four Parliamentary constituencies viz, Kangra, Mandi, Hamirpur, Shimla and six Assembly constituencies where bye-elections are to be held, voting will be held on June 1, 2024 (Saturday) from 07:00 am to 6:00 pm.

The press release also said that nominations will not be filed on May 11 and May 12, 2024 being public holidays.

The elections to the four Lok Sabha seats of Himachal Pradesh and by-polls to the six assembly constituencies that fell vacant with the disqualification of six rebel Congress MLAs and their eventual switch to the BJP will be held on June 1.

Six Congress legislators were disqualified from the State Legislative Assembly in February. They cross-voted in favour of the BJP in the Rajya Sabha election on February 27. The rebel Congress MLAs have approached the Supreme Court against their disqualification. The ground for their disqualification was their absence from the Assembly when the State Budget and the Finance Bill were being put to the vote, defying a party whip to vote in favour of the government.

In the 68-member Assembly, the majority figure is 35. The ruling Congress had 40 MLAs, but with the disqualification of six MLAs, the Congress’ number fell to 34. (ANI)

ALSO READ: Delegates from 23 countries arrive to watch polls in India

[mc4wp_form id=""]